Can One Sit During The Stations? How Obligatory Is It To Walk, Kneel And Stand Throughout The Stations Of The Cross

In our previous post, we discussed the Origin and significance of the Stations of the Cross. Just like we said earlier in the post, the Stations Of The Cross also known as the Way of The Cross is the devotion that allows us to trace the journey Jesus made from Pilates’s court to the Calvary, His crucifixion and tomb.

People most often ask these Questions; Why do some people sit down to perform the Stations of the Cross? Can one sit down while saying the Stations of the Cross individually? How obligatory is it to walk and stop at every station, kneel and say the prayers?

Now the real Question is, could you walk a mile in Jesus’ shoes? The significance of these stations is to depict the paths of Jesus from Pilate’s chambers to the cross of Mount Calvary where he was crucified.

Why are these paths to the Cross called “Stations”? This was coined by an English pilgrim William Wey, who visited the Holy Land in the Mid-15th century and described pilgrims following the footsteps of Christ to the Cross. He referred to the Stations as the footsteps of Christ to the Cross.

The primary objective of the Stations is to help the Christian Faithful make a Spiritual contemplation of the Passion of Christ.

Just as the name, “Way Of The Cross” suggests, The Stations is a “journey”. It grew out of imitations of Via Dolorosa (the Sorrowful Way, Way of the Cross and Stations Of the Cross) in Jerusalem believed to be the actual path Jesus walked to Mount Calvary.

With regards to this, a series of 14 images are arranged in numbered order along a path, and the faithful travel from image to image (according to their order), stopping at each station to say the selected prayers and reflect on them. This procession is to journey with Christ and feel those moments when Our Blessed Lady traced her son’s last steps on his way to his Crucifixion on Mount Calvary, Jerusalem.

Thus, Prayers of the Stations of the Cross has become a popular devotion.

It is not an obligation to walk through each station but it is a “necessity” to participate fully both in body mind and spirit through the journey of the Cross. Why do you even have to sit down in the first place when you can walk, stop at every station, kneel, and meditate on the prayers during the Stations Of The Cross?

Individuals who can not follow through the procession due to leg or Knee issues or other serious health challenges can just sit but be sure to refect and participate fully in mind and in spirit.

Here are the 14 Scenes/Stations of the Cross in their order:

Jesus is condemned to death.

Jesus carries His Cross.

Jesus falls for the First time under His Cross.

Jesus meets his sorrowful Mother.

simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross.

Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

Jesus falls for the second time.

Jesus is stripped of His garments.

Jesus is nailed to the cross.

Jesus dies on the cross.

Jesus is taken down from the cross.

Jesus is laid in the Sepulcher (the Tomb)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button