What Makes The Catholic Bible So Different

The Catholic Bible comprises of the whole 73-books recognized by the canon laws of the Catholic church, including the deuterocanonical books. But it does not refer to a particular translation of the bible. The Catholic Bible further divided into the 46 books of the old testament and the 27 books of the new testament.

Old Testament Of The Catholic Bible

The old testament is composed of five major divisions which include: Pentateuch, historical books, wisdom books, prophetic books.
  1. Pentateuch : Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers,Deuteronomy.
  2. Historical books: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Tobit, Judith, Esther, 1 Maccabees,2 Maccabees.
  3. Wisdom Books: Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastics, Songs of Solomon, Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach.
  4. Prophetic books : Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentation, Baruch, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi.
  5. Deuterocanonical: Tobit, Judith, 1 and 2 Maccabees, Wisdom, Sirach, Baruch, parts of Esther and parts of Daniel, and are found in the Bibles of Eastern Christianity. These books are usually not found in the Protestant Bible but are sometimes included in a separate inter-testament section called the “Apocrypha”.

The New Testament

The new testament is made up of five major strata like the gospels, historical books, Pauline Epistles, General Epistles and the book of revelations.

  1. The Gospel: Mathew, Mark, Luke, John
  2. Historical book: Acts
  3. Pauline Epistles: Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossi-ans, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews
  4. General Epistles: James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude
  5. Revelation

Some Bible translations used in the Catholic church include; The living bible catholic edition, New Jerusalem Bible, Christian community bible, New revised standard version catholic edition, Good news translation Catholic edition, CTS new Catholic bible, new American Bible revised edition, St. Joseph new Catholic version new testament and psalms. These translations are based on the canon law of the Catholic church.

The canon law of the Catholic Church ( in Latin: jus canonicum) is the system of Laws and legal principles made and enforced by the hierarchical authorities of the Catholic church to regulate its external organization and government and to order and direct the activities of Catholics toward the mission of the Church. Those who are versed and skilled in canon law, and professors of canon law, are called canonists (or colloquially, canon lawyers). Canon law as a sacred science is called canonistics.

Bibles used by Catholics only differ in the number and order of books from those typically found in other bibles used by Protestants. Catholic bibles remained unchanged following the Reformation and so retain seven books (the Deuterocanonicals) that were rejected principally by Martian Luther, and this makes the translations of the Bible used in the Catholic church unique.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button